UTorrent in Linux(Ubuntu)

zlot

I am a Linux newbie, for the most part, so take this with a grain of salt.

I also have Wine installed in Ubuntu, know what it is, and little else.

Feeling a little nonchalant, and not giving a darn, I downloaded UTorrent, then hit "Run" from the Firefox downloader....and, to my utter shock....it RAN...and ran well.

Looks a little groaty, display-wise, but the port is properly configured, and I'm downloading something as I write.

I managed to locate the executable and put a copy of it on my desktop.

I thought I'd have to do a special install in Wine...or at least SOMEthing special.

Nothing is too easy in Linux, although, I'm starting to get used to Ubuntu, and think it may be viable.

I was truly amazed to see uTorrent work this easily in Linux. Can someone tell me what I did right, because I have no idea. Is it using Wine automatically?

Nothing seems to happen automatically in Linux.

Installing programs gives me headaches!

Yet. this worked, slicker'n poop!

Please tell me something!

Thanks!

Anything you run in Wine looks a little groaty display wise. If this is what you consider groaty.

http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/3753/screenshottorrent2014.png

I have no problem with the look.

My guess is that Firefox knew to open the application in Wine, and that is why it worked.

I use it on openSUSE, and despite there being other apps for Linux, find it the easiest to use.

You may want to go to the Idea Bank, and vote for a Linux version.

Enjoy!

Thanks for the response!

One thing I'm noticing about uTorrent in Linux is the way it takes over the bandwidth, which is why I've created an army of Virtual Machines.