µTorrent's newbie with many questions

Khane

Hi all

I am a complete noob to BitTorrent (less than a week) and after having tried five different BitTorrent clients I have decided that µTorrent is just fine for me and I have a few questions related to BitTorrent in general and µTorrent in particular. I apologize in advance for the long post and so many questions in one single post but I really want to learn to use µTorrent properly.If my questions have already been answered please link me to the relevant threads.

I am a complete non geek and my knowledge of technical computer related stuff is quite limited, so please if you are trying to help me I will be very thankful if you give me the explanations with the minimum technical jargon possible.

1. After I installed the original BitTorrent client I have downloaded the rules for Bittorrent from the Look 'n' Stop Web site and applied and saved them into my Look 'n' Stop Firewall and started to work with BitTorrent and it seems to work OK. Now that I have installed µTorrent and made it my default client , are the Look 'n' Stop rules for BitTorrent that I have previously installed OK or good enough to work fine with µTorrent or should I change something ?

The first file that I have downloaded (with the original BitTorrent client ) was a 350 MB file and it took less than four hours to complete successfully with an average download speed of about 80 KB/s almost right after the download started which is pretty amazing compared to eMule. I then downloaded a few other files again with the original BitTorrent client and the download speed was low (most of the time around 3 KB/s and 10 KB/s) but I understand that the download speed differs from file to file (availability , popularity etc.... ). Now that I work with µTorrent the download speed of the is also around 3 KB/s and 10 KB/s for each files (I download 2 files right now)