Error in downloaded file?

johnbinsc

I am new to torrent. I am using the bittorrent 6.4 client on Windows7 64 bit.

Bittorrent seems to be working fine, I have a bunch of peers and seeds. The download and upload speeds seem about right. The network connection indicator is green etc.

I am trying to download a large file that includes a Dvd .iso image of about 4GB plus a few smaller files. The ISO is zipped.

The first try everything seemed to finish OK, but when I try to unzip the iso, the output file is only 400MB, and 7-Zip gives me an error message.

What is the source of this problem? Is the original file that was shared no good, and the torrent problem is just reproducing that bad file? Or is there some potential way that the torrent download process itself can have corrupted the file?

I did delete and then re-open the .torrent file in bittorrent 6.4, and then opened it again and it looked like it just checked that the file I had already downloaded was OK, which only took 30 seconds or so, and I got the nice solid blue bar and no error messages from Bittorrent. But the same problems when I tried to extract with 7-Zip.

Currently I am trying to download the entire torrent again, having first deleted the previously downloaded files. But it will be hours before that completes.

TIA

We don't deal with content here. You should first check the details page for the torrent in question and then if that doesn't explain whats going on (from comments) ask in the forums on that site/tracker.