Port forwarding does not seem to be working

shaahul

Hi

I have a Netgear wireless router. I followed the steps mentioned in portforwarding.com to allow port forwarding. But in spite of that I am unable to download any torrents. Whenever I run the port forwarding test through utorrent's speed guide, I get the following error - Error! Port 32459 does not appear to be open. What is it that I need to check?

Tracker status - No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.

DHT status - waiting for announce...

How do I check if both TCP and UDP packets are allowed or not?

I am a newbie to the concept of torrents. This is the first time I am trying to download a torrent. Any help in this regard is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Shaahul

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have tried to follow the instructions in the utorrent FAQ section and also from the posts, but am unable to download any torrents. Please let me know if I need to provide any more info that would help in tracing the problem.

Shaahul

Yes I am sure, I had forwarded to right ip address. I added a custom service "utor1" with the following settings.

Service Name Start Port End Port

utor1 32459 32459

The value of the server ip address is my ipaddress got through ipconfig.

Thanks

Shaahul

Firon

What is DMZ?

I have a doubt about my ipaddress. Whatismyip.com shows my ip address as 72.xx.xx.xx while ipconfig shows my ip address as 192.168.xx.x. Which is the one that I am supposed to set while configuring my router?

Thanks

Shaahul

You have to set the one in ipconfig. And by the way, there's no point hiding the local IP (192.x), no one outside your LAN can access it. DMZ is an option that most routers have that basically forwards every port to one IP. Try using it and see if that works.

Thx Firon for your quick responses.

I still didnt get how to use DMZ.