data of unfinished downloads don't register on restart

nerdology

Newbie here, so forgive me for sounding like one.

I regularly stop my unfinished torrent downloads and restart my pc the next day because house rules at my place say I can't keep my pc on overnight. Lately, though, my unfinished downloads are stuck on a previous time. For example, I download tv series one episode at a time - I choose not to download the later episodes so I can complete the first episode first and work my way through the series one episode at a time until I finish the whole thing. I resume unfinished episodes the next day. In one tv series download, when the force recheck started (I sometimes forget to stop the download the previous day), the data of an unfinished episode I started downloading yesterday didn't register. A download stopped at, say 50%, reverted back to square one.

I had a movie, though, that I only started downloading yesterday but didn't finish. It wasn't not on the list of downloads when I opened utorrent, but I force rechecked and the data I'd downloaded yesterday was there. Same thing with another tv series, though I can't remember if I started that one yesterday.

I had a download I abandoned for a while at 13% to give way to priority downloads and only resumed and finished it yesterday. But today that same download was under the list of current downloads, at 13%. I force rechecked it, and it removed itself and went under the completed downloads list. The data of this torrent is in my laptop's hard drive, the others above in an external hard drive, just in case it's important.

Using an Eee pc. XP with Threatfire, Mcafee enterprise, free Spyware doctor, Malewarebytes, Super antispyware and Comodo firewall, and a free Norton online scanner I intend to remove today.