Just downloaded uTorrent, but its not working

Luipaard

So I downloaded uTorrent yesterday. I went through the set up guide posted on this website, making sure that there was a Windows Firewall exception, that incoming legacy connections were allowed, and whatnot. (Mind you, I'm a complete beginner at all this.) Then I went to the Open Office link (once more provided by this website) to test my speed with a torrent.

Except it never got that far. My browser kept giving "loading...loading..." and kept saying that it was waiting for the Open Office website to respond. Well...okay, maybe its just really slow. So I leave my computer alone for two hours, figuring hey, that's enough time, right? Except when I come back two hours later, its still giving me "loading...loading..." and waiting for the Open Office website to respond.

Well. That kind of sucks. So I go to the forum and click around and find the Glasnost test. I set it up, it chugs away and ten minutes later I get this: http://i53.tinypic.com/33n8g7c.jpg

Ah! It was the ISP thwarting my torrenting ways!

Except when I tried to set up a static ISP, my computer told me that my DHCP was not enabled. Correct me if I'm wrong (and I probably am) but isn't an active DHCP rather vital for this kind of thing?

When it comes to my internet connection, its a LAN connection to my university's network. Routers are banned in my dorm building. I'm rather at a loss, and have been banging my head against my desk for the past few hours. Can anyone help me?

Ok, Glasnost crashed...so we can't even tell if it's to blame or your ISP.

But if you're on a university network, then they almost certainly mangle packets going through their gateway.

"Routers are banned in my dorm building."