API functions

yoav.ost

Hi,

I'm a developer and i'm doing an extensive use in you'r API, the WebUI that is.

I have a few requests so it would be easier to work with the API.

1. A standard function that would return (in JSON of course) a list of all actions, list and get methods + syntax.

2. When getting a list such as in list=1 or getfiles or any other it would be cool if the reply would be like in getprops. For example list=1 in "torrents" I would have "hash" : hash_code and not just the value.

It would make the work much easier for delevlopers to serialize the results so we wouldn't have to change the serializing every time you change the result format.

3. I'm using version 3.0 and WebUI 0.38 and noticed that you added the RSS in list=1. Are there any new actions that can be done with rsses? Where can I find some documentation?

Regardless, I think the RSS list should be in list=2, it would be cool to have more lists and in this way, I, as a developer, don't have to make any changes in list=1, but just add list=2 if I want to.

4. After adding a torrent (by URL or file) it would be very cool if in the reply I would get the hash code of the new torrent. For future reference.

5. Right now I can do 8 actions (start, stop, pause, forcestart, unpause, recheck, remove, remove data) on a given torrent using it's hash code.

- I would like to suggest 2 more: move up and down in queue.

- After doing the action a reply would be nice. If it were successful I would like the new details of the torrent and if not (invalid hash code or something) a message that indicates the problem.

6. Working with labels:

- An action that adds a label.

- An action that assigns a label to a torrent (if it's a new one it creates it also).

I know i'm asking for a lot, but I think it would really help developers in the future.

I would like to pay your attention to the fact that i'm not asking for anything new, It can all be done using the windows GUI.

Thank you very much,

Yoav

Hi,