Jump to content

All torrents lost (3.0 Alpha b24870)


Darr247

Recommended Posts

I had a couple dozen files shared, with one still downloading, and a few seconds after ok'ing the upgrade (from build 24823 to 24870) in the popup notice, all of them were 'gone'.

(Now I fully understand why the 'betas' are blacklisted... if a large number of people used 3.0 Alpha, all of a sudden there would have been almost no seeds/peers on some files.)

Anyway... that 'feature' isn't mentioned in the changelog, so this note is a "heads up" for people thinking about upgrading... the problem itself I'll report via email; just thought I'd mention it for users performing due diligence before upgrading.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks for the link to the Migrate Guide.

However, it doesn't work.

First, there is no 'Options > Preferences > Others' section in 3.0 Alpha as given in step 4 of the Loading multiple torrents stored in a single folder guide.

Second, though I have checked the Automatically load .torrents from: box and the paths are correct to my completed downloads/finished jobs subdirectory (both are the same folder), 3.0 Alpha build 24870 does NOT automatically load those torrents and make their files available.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Preferences > Directories

Anyway use alpha as standalone (resume.dat/settings.dat in the same folder as utorrent.exe) or back up the folder %appdata%\utorrent regularly when you're using the alpha.

I don't remember why, but I made 0-byte resume.dat and settings.dat files in the microTorrent subdir a while back, though I see they are no longer 0-byte files now (neither are the '.old' copies). Still, they are all significantly smaller than their (older) counterparts which still reside in the %appdata%\utorrent\ subdirectory.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Preferences > Directories

Anyway use alpha as standalone (resume.dat/settings.dat in the same folder as utorrent.exe) or back up the folder %appdata%\utorrent regularly when you're using the alpha.

I don't remember why' date=' but I made 0-byte resume.dat and settings.dat files in the microTorrent subdir a while back, [...']

Here's why: #2 on the http://user.utorrent.com/faq/errors FAQ page.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That's why it's better to don't run the betas or alphas with your current settings.

Follow the migartion guide to reload the torrents into µT.

Thanks for the tip, but it's not much of a migration guide when only initiates know that it exists.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...