Slow Speed with BT Infinity

Mezzor

Hi,

In my old property I used 02 Home broadband and always had very moderate speeds, nothing to slow but then again not overly quick.

I've just moved and thought I'd try BT infinity and hoped this may speed my downloads up but it hasn't, in fact I can't get above 3kb/s at all on any torrents.

I have tried looking through the steps to take but I don't really understand some of it to be honest, i'm a complete Noob when it comes to things like this.

I would be greatful if anyone would be kind enough to help me out.

Thanks in advance

Dan

• 2 weeks later...

I've been all over the internet to find a solution to this and am now experimenting with a new option that seems to be working thus far. Lemme break down the problem for any newcomers.

I have BT infinity and from what I've heard is that they cap the speed at peak times: I think that the weekday times are 4pm-midnight, the weekends I have no idea. By cap I mean some engineer has been clever enough to target torrenting only. This will limit the speed to 0-20k for me and seems to persist throughout the days anyway; totally useless company! I am infuriated that my household changed without telling me; on the flipside we've now got 12 Meg instead of our line limit which was 3 Meg before. Upload is 8 Meg, ping 23! Good for me kicking a friends a*s on FIFA Soccer 2011 (you reading this Skate, yes I said KICK your a*s)!