Please Help: uTorrent stopped working and no tech knowledge!

TreyO

I'm a complete tech idiot and uTorrent seems completely frozen. I was uploading at (unlimited), the internet provider hasn't cut my uploads/downloads and although I'm online, uTorrent doesn't appear to be.

Feel free to call me what you will, but I'd appreciate the help and it really has to be explained for a dummy!

Thanks @Mac-the-Knife for getting back to me. I didn't even know where to look for more info honestly, so that already helps me. I went to the set-up guide, ran a test and it said that the speed test failed due to the socket not being connected. But, this is not the case as I have full internet connection.

The issue is with all torrents and my settings are on unlimited. Thanks!

Have you clicked the trackers tab and seen if any trackers are connecting as it could be as simple as the trackers gone down.

If you find you just aren't connecting to any trackers, then you could click the info button, then find the hash key, copy it, then click the link below:

http://torrentz.eu/

paste the hash key in the search bar, then when it goes to the page, scroll down until you get to the trackers. Copy all the trackers, then go back to uTorrent, right click on the torrent you are downloading, then click properties. This will bring up a list of trackers, notice they all have a space between them. Go down to the bottom of the trackers list, leave a space, and paste the trackers in that you have just copied. If it's a tracker issue then this should solve it.

Thanks again! I understand and I could do these steps, but foolishly, I don't know how to find the "tracker tab" nor the "hash key". I'm being a little high maintenance here, but is there any chance you could describe the literal path to these?