µTorrent doesn't allow me to see file contents

Kavinu

Hi.

I'm new to this whole Magnet link thing on The Pirate Bay so if someone would be nice enough to clear this up with me I'd appreciate it. When I used to download torrents using the Green torrent icon, it would open in uTorrent with a breakdown of the file contents, allowing me to pick (tick the box) of which files I wanted to download. But with this new magnet link, it doesn't show me anything in uTorrent (at all). My only option is proceed with the download without knowing the file contents. I've tried it several times with different torrents and it just gives me the same results. In the end, the download folder contains the subtitles, notepad files, sample, the film and possible other files that I didn't need or wanted to download. This is very fustrating since I'm on a bandwitdh cap with my ISP.

This is what my screen looks like when I'm about to download a film;

62561151.png

And these are the options I have set;

93119817.png

I managed to find a similar thread to my issue but the troubleshooting steps that helped the OP did not help me. http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=66031

Can anyone fix this for me please?

It's how magnets work.

I've had users on other forums that I've inquired about this issue tell me that it works fine for them so I don't think that's the case. There should be a way to see the file drop-down, even with magnets.

Upgrade to uTorrent Version 3.1.2 stable (build 26821)

I just finished upgrading to that version and I still have the issue.

Sorry' date=' I misinterpreted this

Fix: Check existing files before start downloading the torrent added via magnet link
in the Changelog.

You can't see files in advance with magnet links.

Why is that? Is there a way around it? Another torrent client perhaps?