My uTorrent is a mess...help!

Tobaccoblender

I've been using for torrent fairly successfully for a couple of years now, but it seems to be in a bad state at the moment.

If I knew how to attach a file to this post, I could attach a screenshot to help show what's going on....

But in the meantime I'll try to explain.

My downloading and seeding are really spotty. Sometimes it'll soar away up to 125kB/s (the max my internet provider allows me) and maybe go on like that for 10 mins or so, then it'll fall back to anything from zero to 9 or 10.

Quite often if I shut uTorrent down and restart it, it'll get going again, but most often not.

I'm pretty sure all is not well with my portforwarding (but that's always been the case and it didn't seem to matter in the past). I have a program called PortChecker which pings my router and always comes back saying PortChecker was able to ping your router But your port is not open or not reachable.

I also have PF Config, and this has never once managed to communicate with my router. I have entered the correct username and password (and I've confirmed these by going into the router myself using those passwords- no problems) but it always times out and never gets into the router.

So I have no idea what status my port forwarding is in and don't know how to get further down that road....

Can anybody help me with step by step troubleshooting to get my torrenting back on track?

Thanks alot in advance!

I could attach a screenshot to help show what's going on
Upload it somewhere put the URL between [ img ]image uri [ /img] tags

http://user.utorrent.com/help/guides/connection-setup

I also have PF Config, and this has never once managed to communicate with my router.
Probably because home routers have the control port blocked from 'outside' by default.

https://picasaweb.google.com/107155735033634841321/January82013#5830984812483459266