Does DHT Break VPN Security and Expose Your IP?

stevefoobar

I'm relatively new to P2P (I use uTorrent) and extremely new to VPN use.

I've been reading some old posts (maybe 2009) that seem to imply that DHT, which was relatively new for P2P sites back then, was leaking real IP addresses because it somehow doesn't use or bypasses VPNs.

This can't be true can it? Has this been corrected? Obviously there is no point in using a VPN if DHT's leak real IP addresses anyway. Also, DHT and PEX links are THE NEW STANDARD for P2P sites and all major sites have implemented them and are moving completely away from traditional torrents, so it isn't really an option to disable DHT and PEX in your client, although uTorrent does give you that option.

I would appreciate input from someone that is more knowledgeable and current on this topic. Please no responses if you aren't absolutely sure of what you are claiming as obviously this is a serious issue and would make VPN subscriptions pointless if true.

Thanks!

It's possible the posts I've been reading are just wrong or they are misinformed. It's also possible they are referring to using proxy servers but I'm not sure. I certainly would like to get more details on this to feel more secure.

It's amazing to me how little information is available on the net regarding proper use of VPN services when using P2P clients and what the potential risks are if any of using a VPN and I've done A LOT of searching and reading!

Protect Your IP From Being Disclosed if Your VPN Connection Fails