Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

xerces8

Trouble with migrating downloaded files

Recommended Posts

Hi!

I use uTorrent 3.3.1 build 30017 on Windows 8 Pro 64 bit.

Today I installed a new hard drive and wanted to move/migrate all my torrent files (the content, downloaded files, not the .torrent files) to the new drive.

I read the Migrating Your Files guide, specifically the last section "Moving files to another location after they have been loaded in µTorrent".

After selecting a destination directory, a dialog appears:

File move target D:\DL\the_file.rar already exists. Overwrite?

[Yes] [No] [Cancel]

(Cancel and No seem to do the same: nothing; Yes, updates the download location, without overwriting the file)

This is confusing, since uTorrent has nothing to overwrite (the file is no more present in the original location). One might also guess that this means re-download and overwrite.

In any case, overwriting is not what the user wants (and not what uTorrent actually does).

For the sake of clarity, can the text of this dialog be changed?

Or the dialog not being displayed at all?

Additionally: While trying to figure this out I noticed, that if one simply selects a new download location, uTorrent will move/copy the file by itself. So the guide can be rewritten in a simpler form, like this:

- Stop the torrent you wish to move in the torrent list in µTorrent.

- right click > Advanced > Set Download Location ...

- Browse to the location where you have moved the files.

- Start the torrent again.

Regards,

David

PS: Another possible bug: if the torrent is running and the user selects Advanced > Set Download Location ..., the file dialog appears and after selecting a destination folder, nothing happens, the old location stays in effect. I guess the menu should be disabled for running torrents.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
nothing happens, the old location stays in effect. I guess the menu should be disabled for running torrents.
When relocating a running job, you should see the job status change to "Moving...", then depending on how long the relocation takes, it will change back to the previous status and the new location will appear on the Detailed Info -> General tab.
After selecting a destination directory, a dialog appears:

File move target D:\DL\the_file.rar already exists. Overwrite?

[Yes] [No] [Cancel]

Yep been mentioned before, "Overwrite" basically means "Use the same disc allocation space"? with an "after re-checking" being implied.

BitTorrent clients do not have a concept of 'files', just blocks of data that the underlying OS understands as 'files', so 'overwrite files' does not have the same meaning as it does in file managers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1.) Strange, this is not what I observed.

2.) It did not re-check. The operation was instant even for torrents several gigabytes large. (I did a manual Force re-check after migrating all torrents, just to be sure)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The operation was instant even for torrents several gigabytes large

Okay,

How long had the job been running?

How much had been downloaded

AND

Do you have pre-allocate on?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most torrents I migrated were 100% downloaded.

I described two different things, to which are you referring:

- trying to migrate a running torrent (99% downloaded)

- migrating a stopped torrent

?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Either, Both the operation is the same.

But a job that is not pre-allocated and is not fully complete will take significantly less time. Also jobs that are moving between diectories on the same drive will be almost instant.

AND given that you were/are moving the jobs to a new and presumably EMPTY drive, getting an overwrite alert dialogue would indicate that you did NOT select the new drive as the destination.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you ignore this instruction:
 

Move the files to the location of your choice (for multiple files move the containing folder as a whole)

 

It works.

 

So, basically I copied a few hundred GB of files between hard drives for nothing.

 

Can we get those instructions updated? Fine if utorrent wants to move the files itself, just don't waste our time with bad instructions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Strike that. It just started re-downloading a torrent that was fully completed... from 38%.

 

Utterly inexplicable behaviour when performing exactly the same actions on different items.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.