total newbie!! please help me?!

bebepet

I hope you guys don't think I'm totaly stupid, but I really am just stumbling my way thru this and I could really use some explainations, like I was a 2yr old!

I have no real idea what I am doing, or what all the terms mean, even after reading thru the FAQ's. I feel like a retard, but if any one out there feels like walking me thru this I'd really appreciate it!

Thank you

a message bubble popped up to tell me that one of my downloads was finished, yet is still seems to be working on something, is it really finished? do i manualy make it stop? when and how do i burn it to a dvd? how long should a download of a typical movie take? what does it mean where the two blue bars are, one showing 'downloaded' one showing (in not so solid blue) 'availability'? the download that said it was finished has an * in the # column, not a #, why? one of my other downloads that says 100% done has nothing in that space, what is the difference?

is that too many questions? i know i will have more, but i guess that's all for now. thank you! ;-)

1. When you've finished downloading, it's courteous and fair to upload the same amount so that others can share. That's what the torrent is doing after it's finished.

2. You could stop/remove it, but then you'd be leeching scum, and we'd have to kill you. ;)

3. Read the announcement at the top of the forum. - how to burn/watch/play/install whatever you downloaded is not for this forum. Chances are your download was illegal, but regardless of that, using whatever you downloaded is a subject for elsewhere.

4. How long is a piece of string? A 'typical' movie could mean a 600mb divx with 200 seeders each uploading at 2Mbps, or it could be a 12Gb HD-DVD ISO with one seeder on dial-up. Depending on either of those factors, plus your own connection, a movie download could take anywhere from 10 minutes to 6 weeks.

5. Availability - read the faq.