Suddenly Slow...Help Please

futurejp

Hi. I tried looking for my problem in the FAQ/forums, sorry if I missed it. I know it's frustrating to see repetitive topics.

I've been using uTorrent for a few months now, and it's always been fine. Then just about two days ago, something weird happened. My torrents started going slower - but you can never be sure if that's a problem or just lack of uploaders letting you download from them.

But whenever I have any active downloads in uTorrent, even if the max speed I'm downloading at is only 5 or 10 k/s, my internet browsing gets very slow.

I used to be able to download at several hundred k/s, I suppose, in uTorrent, and browse the internet fine.

I mean...you know if you click on Options, then Speed Guide, and you can test if your port is forwarded correctly? (which mine is...). If I pause all of my downloads, so I'm not downloading with uTorrent, and then I click "Test if port is forwarded properly", it checks and instantly tells me that it is. It takes much less than a second to do this test and display the webpage. But If I start my downloads, downloading at a total of...9.4k/s (which is unusually slow, and I'm even connected to 18 seeders and 54 leechers for one torrent), and I click the "test" button now, it takes a whole....8 seconds to display the webpage.

I'm sure I explained much more than I needed to, but it's just a weird problem...suddenly, whenever I have active downloads, other things that use the internet (AIM, Firefox, etc. ) seem to be very slow, and even my uTorrent downloads seem slower than usual.

My port is forwarded correctly, as the Test shows, and uTorrent is listed as an exception on my firewall.

Any suggestions?

Thanks a lot.