Need help fixing disconnects while using befsr41 and wrt54g

Rev_North

I've read over the utorrent help page and noticed that there are issues with the befsr41v4 and with wrt54g routers. I happen to use both. However, after reading the help and following some steps to help resolve the issue I still can't quite figure it all out (I'm a newbie with router stuff, so its a little hard for me)

My setup :

Comcast cable modem ---> plugs into Befsr41v4.1 etherfast cable router ---> plugs into Wrt54gv4 wireless router

I recently fixed my error with port forwarding by making a static IP and forwarding that so my speeds are pretty good I think (around 30-100kb/sec depending on the torrent)

However, after a torrent runs for, anywhere from 1 minute to 4 or 5 hours, my connection suddenly goes down and I have to powercycle the modem and routers.

From what I've read so far on forums and such, I've updated my firmware and such...my befsr41v4.1 is 1 day old and the firmware on it is newer than even posted on the linksys webpage, and my wrt54g v4 is using the latest dd-wrt firmware that I could find.

I altered my MTU settings on the befsr41 router based on what I could find from linksys's knowledge base as well. The disconnects still occur.

I followed a link to a page that helped with doing some kind of start up scripts for dd-wrt used on wrt54g router that possibly fixes speed/disconnect issues but I really didn't understand the instructions at all - I have no idea what an ssh client is and how to operate it to get that stuff to work.

I'm really sorry about posting this because I know you all have probably seen it a hundred times, but if someone could PLEASE help me by saying what they have done in the past to fix it or suggestions other than 'update firmware, fix mtu, blah blah' then please please help. If you can explain that startup script stuff in more depth I would appreciate it if you think that will work.