Are magnet links replacing torrents?

php111

Hi everyone,

I wasn't sure where to post my thread.

I do love torrents. I understand that pretty soon there won't be no more torrents, but are magnet links replacing torrents? Someone told me how it works, but they won't answer the questions I have.

1.) In the upcoming future are magnet links replacing torrents?

2.) How do I download the magnet link? I know how to download a torrent. What exactly does the magnet link look like? Do I go to the same torrent sites as before, but they will be magnet links instead of torrents?

Thank you for any information.

I'm no expert but today I took a chance and DLed two magnet links from TPB and to my surprise, uTorrent 2.0.4 just started downloading without any trouble at all. The only problem was that I had no opportunity to decide where the data was to be saved; uTorrent just started immediately DLing to my Downloads folder. Also, I had no chance to change the name of the folder where the data was to be DLed.

The speeds were quite fast and it seemed like I was connecting to many more peers than with a torrent file but, obviously, I can't be sure of that since I didn't make an actual comparison between the two methods.

I'm no expert but today I took a chance and DLed two magnet links from TPB and to my surprise, uTorrent 2.0.4 just started downloading without any trouble at all. The only problem was that I had no opportunity to decide where the data was to be saved; uTorrent just started immediately DLing to my Downloads folder. Also, I had no chance to change the name of the folder where the data was to be DLed.

The speeds were quite fast and it seemed like I was connecting to many more peers than with a torrent file but, obviously, I can't be sure of that since I didn't make an actual comparison between the two methods.

Thank you so much for that info! So, all I need to do is go to any torrent site, and then click the red magnet link, and then it will do it's work?