Transfering torrents and Good Manners?

gondolf

Hi, I am new to the world of Bit Torrents (and utorrent). I tried Bit Comet, and had trouble configuring it properly, whereas utorrent was painless.

Now that I'm up and running, I'm trying to stay out of trouble. I'm going to be banned at one site because of my poor ratio performance. (I like how utorrent has an in-your face ratio per torrent). This low ratio was unintended because apparently I was in a "not connected" mode when I thought I was. -It seems odd that I could download and see files upload and still be not "connectable". But I could not set it straight with BitComet.

My question(s)

I admit I am not a quick study on this. I have read postings and FAQ's and I'm ether not understanding it (most likely) or not seeing the mechanics of how to transfer previous completed torrents to utorrent. I need to keep seeding to make amends to the site I leached from. When I tried to do this (transfer) to utorrent, my selected torrents began downloading again (they are at 100%) and I just want to seed the files I previously downloaded, not leach again.

Any thoughts? Please dumb down advice. I will not be insulted....in fact it's the only way I'll understand it...

Also, utorrent (upon installation) decided that based on my upload speed (384kbs) that I should not have more than 3 active torrents at any given time. (I assume active means leaching or seeding).

So, my second question is how long to seed after reaching a ratio of one is good manners? I'm going to be fairly limited with only 3 active torrents, but I want to seed as much as can.

Sorry to be long winded-Thanks, and I look forward to being part of this community. -G