Corrupt .Zip - Availability 99.3% - Availability zero - What to do?

abrogard

I'm completely new to uTorrent.

Just did my first download and it came down to 99.3% When I looked I see that was all that was available.

I've got two other downloads listed. One is 23% available. The other is zero.

Am I doing it wrong trying to download these files?

Should I only ask for files that are 100% available?

I'm thinking, of course, that availability fluctuates hour to hour, day to day and that I'll get the whole file eventually.

But perhaps I'm wrong or only half right and it's the wrong way to go.

Appreciate some guidance.

regards,

ab :)

Yes, there's > 20,000 seeds in the swarm for one file, >40,000 for the other.

I note the availability of the files does change, it would seem. Because one of these files was once only at 23%.

I now have two downloaded files within a whisker of completion. One at 99.3% complete and the other at 99.6% complete. And that's their availability, too, so unless the availability changes they won't complete will they?

Or perhaps the mix of available files changes from time to time? So that availability can go down as well as up?

And so that the piece I need can suddenly become available, even though availability is perhaps reported as still less than 100% ?

Torrents with an inordinate amount of seeds/peers, yet which have issues with stopping when nearing completion, and with availabilities less than 1.0 are generally fake torrents. It's junk data being shared that you normally can't finish, probably initially shared by some anti-P2P agency of sorts. If you ever do manage to complete it, it's (again) junk data. You'll also find that you often have LOTS of hashfailed pieces when downloading fake torrents.

Okay, thank you for that.

I will delete them and seek alternatives.

I selected them because they were at the top of the list the index threw up. I kinda thought that meant the most popular hence most reliable. Wrong. :(