Clients that fetch torrents sequentially from the start - happening!

BlindFreddie

See my post just now in "Index » Feature Requests » Prioritizing first/last pieces - enhancements".

The "Transmission" client seems to be downloading torrents sequentially from the start. I'm a BT newbie, but I suspect that it's violating protocol.

Should the protocol state that clients should ban other clients that are detected doing that?

Thanks, Switeck. Giving v low pri/choking is essentially what I meant.

BTW, a "Transmission" client is on one of my peer lists again, it's one of the offenders, and it's version is shown as 0.72Z (letter 'Z').

Since you're a moderator, I'll leave it to you to pass on the message to the uT programming team.

(Later) I Googled for Transmission, and came up with pay dirt in a transmission.m0k.org forum article, where member Charles Kerr, one of the program's developers, states his piece-fetching priorities.

See http://transmission.m0k.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1950&highlight=first

If the article is no longer online when/if you need it, I have kept a copy.

Causes piece availability to be front heavy, but shouldn't cause problems if the client doesn't insist on the order. Of course, best piece availability would be to the front as well. The protocol itself doesn't prohibit this kind of behaviour, but is discouraged as Firon said. The only real flaw with this is that the bandwidth isn't distributed across the peers since with this any peer can fulfill any (sequential) request. Also takes longer to have other full seeds out there since the likelyhood of one peer staying to seed after finishing isn't that high (a good majority just drop out soon after receiving the whole thing in public trackers), so this is where it harms the swarm.

• 1 year later...

I know this is an old debate, but I'm unconvinced that sequential downloading harms torrents.