Had a temporary fix

csdeven

My Linksys WRT54G (v 8.2) is forwarded to the port specified in utorrent preferences. (10100) I have a static IP in Vista ( Home Basic). My upload kb's are 430. I was only getting DL's of 15 kB's in utorrent. Then per a guide, I enabled UPnP and viola', I got 311 kB's downloads! For about 5 seconds. Then for some unknown reason the DL's drop to less than 50 kB's. Now I'm oscillating right around 50 kB. It does this for 5 minutes or so and then drops to less than 10 kB. It stays there for 5 minutes, shoots up to 200+ and then immediately back down to around 50 kB and the pattern repeats.

Also, my button at the bottom is yellow and the port forwarding checker says my port appears to be closed. I checked and rechecked the guide and everything is kosher.

Can anyone help? I am new to this and am learning as I go.

Has the port always been closed according to µT? Have you tried the web based port checker? I have to wonder if the oscillations are from our model router being crap, or it could be an ISP.. what ISP do you use? And have you tested with OpenOffice torrents?

Finally, on your router, go to the status page and post the first half of you WAN/Internet IP address. Using a web service to find this doesn't count, you need to check it in the routers status page.

From the status page, the IP address is 169.254.xxx.xxx

I just switched from my Linksys BEFW11S4 v4 router to this one. In both instances, the port appears blocked to the µT port checker.

Port checking: I tried "canyouseeme.org" and "amule.org" and both report that my port is blocked. I am testing my configuration by downloading "slackware-10.2-iso

That address.. you shouldn't have an 169.254/16 address...........................

What is the make and model of your modem? It may be interfering with you. What is your ISP? It's either your modem, or your ISP has no DHCP server.............

This is from my routers status page.

Login Type: Automatic Configuration - DHCP