"Bandwidth allocation" - what does it do?

NOP

Hi,

I'm kind of new to utorrent, so what does "Bandwidth Allocation" do, switching from medium to "high"? And what is the difference to the settings in the network preferences, where I set my max. down- and upload rates - isn't that my bandwidth?

My "physical" bandwidth is a fast DSL connection, more than 10 MBit/s down and about 800 kBits/s up. So what will be my optimum settings, if I want to get the maximum possible connections for download?

Hi,

I'm kind of new to utorrent, so what does "Bandwidth Allocation" do, switching from medium to "high"? And what is the difference to the settings in the network preferences, where I set my max. down- and upload rates - isn't that my bandwidth?

My "physical" bandwidth is a fast DSL connection, more than 10 MBit/s down and about 800 kBits/s up. So what will be my optimum settings, if I want to get the maximum possible connections for download?

"Bandwidth Allocation" is I think setting priority on bandwidth allocation relative to other downloads, so it wouldn't make sense for example to set them all to 'high' setting

max down/up rates in preferences I set to 250 down and 50 up since my pipe can go max about 310 KB down and something like 90k up I think (in real terms), that leaves me some overhead for browsing and non demanding online gaming, at least that's how I understand it works, I am also fairly new to this

lets see what experts have to say

vanDivX

• 2 weeks later...

Okay, I've got a question re: bandwidth allocation. I've got 6 torrents (4 d/ling from public trackers, 1 idle seeding to a private tracker, and 1 seeding a brand new torrent to the private tracker which I'm uploading). There's 3 leechers on the torrent I'm uploading, but there's nothing being uploaded to them while I have the other torrents running. However, if I stop *all* my other torrents, the one I'm uploading starts to upload at 17KB/sec..