Disk Overload 100% - with new 2.2 version

seam76

Hi,

I've been using utorrent for many years now.

Recently, I've upgraded to utorrent 2.2 and when adding new files I get a Disk Overload 100% for 5 minutes straight. The hard drive keeps writing and writing, download speed drops to 1kb/s and utorrent stops responding all together until it finally finishes whatever it is doing. It seems to be utilizing the entire hard drive, because I can hardly do anything in Windows. After that, everything is back to normal.

I did not have this problem with the 2.0x releases.

I've checked the cache settings and they are default (the same I used under 2.0x).

I'm on Windows 7 64bit.

Thank You

It's allocating files on disk. There's nothing you can do about it.

Except that I never had this issue with the 2.0x branch.

Something in windows is preventing the allocation from happening in an efficient manner.

diskio.no_zero is set to what?

it is set to true

• 2 weeks later...

Same disk overload problem here. uTorrent 2.2 build 23235 on Win7 x64 and XP SP2 x86 (two different computers).

Last time I had such a disk overload problem was back when files were always allocated and zeroed (or something similar), and this time the overload seems to be related to that too. I had no problem with previous version I was using (2.0?).

Pre-allocate all files unchecked, diskio.no_zero is true, diskio.sparse_files false. Anything else related?

Edit: I wasn't using the latest build. I'll upgrade and see if the problem remains.

Edit2: Yep, build 23774 has the same issue.