High speeds to Low Speeds

MrBond

I'm new to uTorrent, just downloaded it a couple of days ago.

I've read the FAQ, the mini-guide at the top of this forum, and have done all the suggested steps in the mini-guide. I did all of this yesterday, and started to download a 15 GB torrent. I began to get incredable download speeds. My average speed was around 300 kB/s, and the highest speed I saw was around 500 kB/s. That was in the afternoon.

I came back to check up on the progress in the evening, and I had completed 80% of the torrent. However, it seemed to hang at 80% so when I looked, I saw speeds of 0.4 kB/s to 10 kB/s. I figured that I might have had a better seed during the afternoon than I did then, so today when I try to start downloading it, I get off to a good start, around 150 kB/s, and when I come back later, the speed is down again.

Since it was going so slow, and I had recieved most of the files completed. I decided to start over the torrent over for some reason and just check the files that I didn't recieve completely. And I was once again recieving high download speeds (700 kB/s) and then it suddenly stalled out again, this time at 70% completion.

I have a Linksys WRT54G v.2.02 router. I know that these routers cause problems, and I made the changes to fix the problems (framework, etc.), but I can't figure out why I was getting such good speeds, and now I'm not getting anything.

As of the time writing this my speed is 7.2 kB/s. It says

Seeds: 1 of 1 connected (2 in swarm)

Peers: 68 of 129 connected (40 in swarm).

Something else that I noticed is that sometimes my upload speed is way higher than my download speed when my download speed is low. Could this be a problem or is that normal? Another thing I have noticed is that there are alot of peers with a small u in the flags portion of the peers page. I noticed that this means that the Peer wants my client to upload, but my client doesn't want to (interested and choked). Is there a way to fix this?