More Diagnostic Features

TimeOnTarget

Hi --

I'm a bit new to uTorrent, but I do try to figure stuff out whenever I can.  I have some seeders who are really slow in how much they upload (1-2 KB/s), others that are really fast (250 + KB/s).  When there are lots of seeders I can get astounding download rates (in excess of 2 MB/s).

But, I frequently want to download old torrents with very, very, very few seeders.  Often there are no seeders and I may wait months before someone seeds it.  Sometimes that seeder is one that I can download fast from.  Sometimes that seeder is someone that has a slow rate (less than 20 KB/s), and sometimes that seeder is horribly slow (1-2 KB/s).  

The problem isn't the wait on the download-- I frequently wait months for someone to seed, so a few days here or there in downloading doesn't matter to me.  The problem is that the wait frequently appears to deter the slow and really slow seeders from allowing me to finish my download.  Some of these torrents are pretty big -- 20 GB range.  So a 10 KB/s download takes a while, like 20 days.  

I would like to be able to tell whether the slow download rate I get from those seeders is due to them or me.  When I get a slow seeder on one of those torrents that I have been waiting for, I do everything I can think of to speed it up so that they stay until I get fully downloaded.  I change the bandwidth on that one to high and all the rest of the bandwidths to low.  I'll stop things, make sure my upload setting are maximized (as best I can figure out how to do it).  But, I never know if I am missing something that could improve the speed or whether the slow speed is due solely to them.  

When I get a seeder on one of those that no one has been seeding for months, I usually am willing to do about anything to enhance the speed with which I can download.  If there were a button to where I could send the seeder a dozen roses and have my credit card charged, I'd be clicking on that.