Speed problems

nat

Firstly i'm not very up on all the tech terms etc, i'm relatively new to computers. :-)

i have been using Utorrent for about 2 months, when i first got it i don't remember really doing much to the settings (i didn't read any guides or anything) but it pretty much worked fine, my speeds on well seeded torrents were up to about 50kB/s but they did vary quite a lot but that didn't bother me.

Earlier this week i tried to D/L a file that had plenty of seeders but also a lot more leechers, the speed wouldn't go above 0kB/s - 1kB/s even with plenty of seeds connected, i wondered if there were too many leechers for the number of seeds so i figured i'd wait a few days for it to calm down.

I hadn't changed any settings (firewall etc) so couldn't understand why it's gone slow.

I tried again a day or so after and got no better so i read the faq, speed guide etc. and came to the forums and read loads of posts.

I have managed to get one file in a reasonable time after a sudden jump in D/L spped for about an hour, but only on that torrent.

I also noticed that my U/L speed hasn't been going up to it's limit like it used to, even though i have quite a few popular torrents seeding

I did a speed test:D/L speed 922kbps (115.3kB/s)

U/L speed 234kbps (29.3kB/s)

I use McAfee but Utorrent has full access and my windows firewall is off.

I use TalkTalk Broadband (i've seen it on that list!) Speedtouch adsl modem.

I have got the green circle at the bottom of the screen. (always have had)

I'm pretty sure i set things up right for my connection speed, i've got upload set to 23k

i don't really understand ports,(i've had it on the same one -52680- since i got Utorrent and it's been generally fine before) however i notice it says Unable to map UPnP Port in the logger tab and i have it enabled in options. Does that matter?

I have DHT enabled but i have tried disabling it over the last few days of trying all sorts!