Erratic Downloads - Large Peaks and Troughs

akshoo

Ok so this is my first time using uTorrent, I usually use Bitcomet and found everyone on the net saying how great uTorrent was, I checked the features list and it seemed very promising so I got and tweaked and did all the port forwarding etc. (the only thing I have'nt done is the "half open ports patch")

uTorrent 1.2

My Network Status is OK

my option changes are -

Global Max Upload - 10kbps

Global Max Download - 300kbps

Global Max Number of Connections - 300

Max Number of Peers Connected peers per torrent - 100

Number of Upload Slots - 10

DHT is enabled

Enable Scraping is enabled (this makes me stupid, I don't know what this does)

In advanced options I changed

net.low_cpu to false

net.max_halfopen to 50 (this is the setting I've got in Bitcomet but I never get more than 4 or 5 open unless I've got more than 1 torrent going or when a torrent is starting up)

diskio_write_queue_size to 2000

So I start downloading a fairly popular torrent and instead of a rise to a peak download rate within 30 seconds (as with Bitcomet), it take about 5 minutes, can't complain too much about that.

The thing that's really annoying is I get 10- 20 seconds of 31kbps followed by 45-60 seconds of 5kbps while the upload is merrily chugging away at 5kbps.

I've got about 314 DHT peers and half of the total seeds and peers.

I know the following is in no way able to compare the 2 torrent programs but I opened the same torrent in Bitcomet (after exiting uTorrent), and it does its hash check then starts downloading and gets up to 30 to 35kbps withing 15-30 seconds or so and it only deviates between 30 and 35kbps. I thought that was strange, and is the main reason Bitcomet is currently my primary BT client.