False Speed-Limit Enacted in 1875

Computer Guru

OK, this is going to get marked as a non-bug since it's non-reproducible, but as a developer I know what it is :)

utorrentqc5.th.png

I was d/u at 52/10 - my max. I opened up the options dialog to check something, then *poof*.

As you can see from the picture, I went from top-speed downloading to upload-limit.

I have auto-upload speedcap on.

I don't have an explanation for this. I didn't touch any settings, it's a healthy torrent, I didn't change any values, I pressed "cancel" instead of "OK" or "Apply" and I don't know what happened.

I had to turn uTorrent off and back on because it's been some time now and still downloading below my upload - but I don't know if that is going to fix it.

(BTW, how the hell do you type uTorrent in linux? It feels so wrong constantly misspelling it, but alt+numpad doesn't work)

IMHO, that it's not reproducible only gives us enough proof to say that it's a coincidence... The screenshot doesn't reveal anything, and it still doesn't seem to me like the download rate is getting limited by the upload rate -- otherwise, it would be hugging the limit like the upload rate is. To me, the weirdest thing in that screenshot is the fact that the download rate's line is broken in the middle :o

In any case, even though I doubt it's a bug, the people with the real final say are the devs, so I'll shut up about that :P

As for typing the µ... I never found an easy way to do so in Linux. I tried messing with the keyboard region settings, but it never worked out too well. I ended up having to copy and paste from the forum description up above.

At one point, your graph suggests you turned off upload limiting entirely. Upload speed spiked at that point and fell a bit, then spiked and fell again. Then you set the upload speed to 10 KiloBYTES/sec. (Previously it seemed a little lower, about 8?) But for whatever the reason, even that "10" speed seemed a little too much to sustain for long stretches.