Session is not restored

Aalst

(Moved this from troubleshooting since was told this was a known bug.)

If I have files that are downloading and uploading and I close uTorrent, when I reopen it later everything is cleared out. All my preferences are saved, but the files are no longer listed.

I am new to uTorrent, and I really like it. I am coming from Azureus and love uTorrent so much better, but this one thing where the session state is lost when you close uTorrent worries me.

I was told by Firon that this was supposed to be fixed in 1.2.3 beta and it wasn't. I know have the latest 1.3 build 364 and it still doesn't restore the previous session.

This is a rather critical bug, since I have to leave uTorrent open until it finishes downloading the file and uploading to the desired ratio before I can reboot the computer.

Is there any plans to fix this in the near future?

Are you not on XP? I don't think 9x has anything like atomic movefile.

Can you try deleting your resume.dat(.old/.new), settings.dat(.old/.new), and dht.dat(.old/.new)? And before rebooting, close the client manually, it sounds like it's rebooting too fast and not letting it save the resume file.

I am on WinXP Pro

Where are these files you are talking about? I only have a utorrent.exe in a directory all by itself, it didn't create any files there, and it didn't create any files like these in the torrent directory or the download directory that I could find.

I always manually close and exit uTorrent, and it has several minutes to do what it needs to do before I even request the OS to restart. I would hope this is enough time, since utorrent.exe is completely out of memory before restarting.

Just wondering... why not just create these in the same folder as the utorrent.exe file? This would make it more portable and not locked into the "Microsoft" Paradigms. Especially since Application Data is a hidden folder that Microsoft wants to keep typical users out of.