Distributed Share Ratio

drkandrs

To preface this, I admit that I am new to both torrents (in general, and µtorrent specifically) and this forum. Because of this, I have been doing a lot of reading throughout this forum mostly regarding etiquette, especially in regards to share ratio. I could expound further on my reasoning behind this feature request, but I think it more appropriate to waste no more time and outline the proposed feature.

My idea, as the thread title suggests, is the ability to distribute share ratio across the network. So, if some users are doing all the uploading while others are trying (unsuccessfully) to upload to return to at least a unity share ratio, some of total MB uploaded from the big seeders could be 'credited' to those who have a lesser ability to upload (or who are less preferential to connect to and are not utilizing their available upload capacity even though they are trying).

Of course, this would be an elective feature; perhaps the options dialogue for it would entail something along the lines of "distribute upload credit if share ratio exceeds xx/xx (UL/DL)" so that the user could maintain, say, a 2:1 or 3:1 share ratio and 'give away' everything beyond that.

My percieved advantage of this feature is that it would allow people share freely without choking out other people who are trying to achieve around a unity share ratio.