WOW ---- I can't believe I got a green light.

adrian60

First let me say I am rather new to computers. I have 13 months experience!!!! Do I think bittorrent is WAY ABOVE my experience level ---- PROBABLY. But this is how we learn, isn't it.

I have utorrent 1.8.1

I should also apologize for being too detailed in my description, but I think somewhere in the gut busting details lies the answer.

I am on Windows Vista SP1 connected by a wired Ethernet connection. My ISP is Windstream, the modem is a Speedstream 4200, router firmware part # 044-D241-A83 (from their website) I think I was supposed to look for "Ware version" on the label of the router. I guess that's part #060R-D246-A12. It was all it said on the back.

Sorry I can't remember what site, but I found a site that tests to see if Windstream chokes bitorrent ---- and NO. I am confident I have successfully set up a static isp AND am forwarding my port. It wouldn't (utorrent) give me a green light otherwise, would it?

I tried the "office bitorrent test" and it took 6 mins to download 80mbs. This is about normal for my connection. I have a years experience of downloading from Rapidshare, for example. It takes 6 to 8 minutes to download 100mbs at 300 kilobits a sec. Also I don't think I have been TOO ambitious in setting utorrent. I set it for 194, I think it was, whichever yields an upload speed of 22 kilobits in utorrent. I should mention that I tested my download speed at the speed test sites and it is usually (I have done it before) 2400 kilobits.

My FIRST ACTUAL bittorrent download was Monday at 1:00 pm. I got the green light and it STAYED GREEN. The "office test", it was green for about a minute, then the triangle turned and STAYED yellow. It was an 800 mb file and took over 2 hours to download. 80% of the way through the download I jotted down ---- seeds 33 (149), peers 22 (158), uploaded 97.6 mb, ratio 0.143, avail 35.999 and DHT: 290 nodes.