Port Forwarding on Mac OS X 10.5.5 - Final Chapter

Nivan

Thank you for patience with this subject.

I read a lot about port forwarding on the net however a lot of technical answers confused me ever more. I would truly appreciate if someone could summarize the story and provide clear simple guidance. Just to be clear, I am far from an expert.

At home I am one of four computers connected to one router that is connected to internet with 3 Mbit/s connection. With my Mac and with uTorrent 0.9.0.4 I can sometimes get up to 100 kb/s (without any port forwarding). However when I am downloading Sopranos all seasons with 30GB (seeds around 5 (155) and peers around 33 (1912)), 10-20 kb/s that I am getting is very slow. The small lamp in uTorrent is sometimes red, sometimes green and sometimes orange. In preferences, i checked both, randomize port during launch and auto map port. My firewall preferences are Set Access for Specific Services and Applications (uTorrent application is allowed).

My questions are:

Considering pros and cons, do I need port forwarding? How much more faster download rate can I get if I forward my port?

Considering Mac OS X 10.5.5 security issues (I am a new Mac user-old PC user) how safe is it to forward ports and leave them open all the time (I need it only for occasional uTorrent downloading)? Is there a way to open/close them as necessary (taking into consideration that port forwarding is a complicated procedure)?

If I decide to do port forwarding, is portforward.com all I need? I mean, do all the rules there apply to Mac OS X?

Thank you for your patience and help. Truly appreciated.