Win7 torrent association irritation

M6FCH

I have searched the forums and the Internet and cannot find an answer that is good enough.

I have been using uTorrent for a great many years without a single problem; I'm currently running Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit and using 3.1.2 build26745 32bit.

When I first started to use uTorrent it worked fine. However seemingly overnight uTorrent and Windows 7 have had a falling out and now aren't talking to each other. uTorrent will not associate itself with torrents despite being ran as the Admin and Windows 7 won't add uTorrent to it's list of programs to use when it encounters .torrents even when I am telling it to do so.

Furthermore, everytime I open uTorrent, it behaves as if it's the first time it's being opened with Windows asking me "Do you want to allow this program to make changes to your computer?", including forgetting all the torrents I've previously opened.

I've tried uninstalling uTorrent and re-installing it. I've clicked "associate with .torrent files" enough times. I've tried manually adding this rule through the Control Panel and it just won't take it.

I just don't understand it at all, how can this be an overnight change? It's getting to the point where I am considering moving away from uTorrent all together, which would be a shame as does everything I want in such a tiny package.

Any help, suggestions or howtos would be much appreciated. I may have even missed a solution, I can't see one for looking!

Absolutely nothing like that, just a normal Windows 7 install. I've even only updated it once since I've had this machine and that was before I started to install anything.

I am completely baffled by it, a quick look through regedit for a find on '.torrent' gives a few things of note:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.torrent\OpenWithProgids\
uTorrent is set to zero-length binary value