Trackers not working on VPN

Giu989

Hello everyone, I am new to the torrenting world, so I apologise for my ignorance in advance!

I have been using uTorrent for several weeks now, and everything is working fine. I can download torrents at a maximum of 3-8MB/s (around my ISP max download limit).

After a while however I decided to use encryption to obscure my identity in the torrenting world (after having learnt the risks involved with it).

Having already used the service before, I opted to use VPN, for it was quick and easy to set up, and most of all, I already had a subscription. The service that I used was called VPNBook. Their website is here:

http://www.vpnbook.com

However I encountered serious, rather unexpected issues: With the VPN on, every single torrent that I attempted to download had all the trackers not working. The status would be on updating for ages and then

"Connection timed out."

After several tests I concluded that it must have been something to do with the VPN connection, for upon disconnecting it, all the trackers would immediately respond, and the torrent would start downloading within seconds.

I have looked on the VPN provider's website, and they do not block torrenting. If it may help, their servers are based in Romania.

Is there any way to fix this issue? Is there a recommended VPN service provider for torrenting, or if not, are some better than others?

Thank you very much for reading this, and once more I apologise if the answers to these questions are obvious, or my description was not very accurate!

Extra Information: Running uTorrent 1.8.4 on OSX 10.8.4, ISP is British Telecommunications (BT). I have not changed any of the uTorrent settings, and I have tried re-installing it several times. The computer has no firewall activated. I did the VPN testing on both PPTP and OpenVPN systems, with neither working.

Have a nice day,

Giu989