why can't I get green light??

ardg

I have been using uTorrent for several months and it was fine so far. Suddenly I get red light instead of green and almost no downloads/uploads.

I didn't change anything, except that I tried to connect to uTorrent from my office where it is appearently blocked (red light, almost no downloads/uploads).

I have an HP notebook with windows XP home SP2. My firewall (the one that is built in SP2) has uTorrent in the exceptions (I also tried to completely disable the firewall and it didn't help). The port is forwarded in my router (Siemens Gigaset se505) for both TCP and UDP. I tried to change port and forward it again in my firewall and router and it didn't help.

What could be the problem?

thanks!

Is your computer set up with a fixed/static LAN ip (usually in the 192.168.x.x range)?

If it's not, it may have arbitrarily decided to change its LAN ip on reboot...even after all this time...and any router port-forwarding that pointed to the old ip are now useless.

What firewall are you using? Most software firewalls (even Win XP SP2's) are far more trouble and paranoia than they're worth. Your router should protect arbitary incoming attacks. Even Win XP SP2's firewall can protect against outgoing programs.

Are you still using the computer in question at home and having problems...or just having firewalled issues at work?

This is a notebook so I take it to the office and bring it home everyday. In the office I have a fixed IP, but at home not. I don't use uTorrent in the office becuase it's blocked, can't connect.

I use the windows SP2 firewall but even after disabling it the problem presists.

How can I tell if the LAN ip changed? and what can I do about it? I already tried to delete the port and forward it again and it didn't work...