New to Torrent - where do I start?

smoothg101

Im new to this uTorrent thing, I went to the forum website http://utorrent.com/beginners-guide.php , honestly I cant understand the first thing they are talking about, Im lost, dont know what 'adding a torrent' is or why or if I should be - Ive got one file downloading, but its been going for days and days at 20 - 23 kbs/sec. Can I speed this up?

Where can I find an explanation of all this Torrent stuff in plain english for dummys ?? Any suggestions and help appreciated.

Well the beginners-guide is already written for dummy's.

Basically, you find something you want on for instance a website, but when you click the download button you get offered this .torrent file. When that happens you need to use this program to 'Add the .torrent file' which will then download the actual data you wanted.

The 'add a .torrent' part can be done automatically by choosing 'open with µtorrent' (or something similar) when you get the file offered on a website.

I hope that explains the basic purpose of µtorrent.

Thankyou Lord A.

Sorry - Im a lost cause then. And so are all my friends, no-one I know knows anything about this stuff or can follow this.

Thankyou Switeck.

did the cntl G - a panel comes up - I clicked the speed test thing - it goes to http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest - god Im lost now.

It says

Affected Settings

upload limit 47kb upload slots 4

connection per torrent 90 connections (Global) 250

Max active torrents 3 max active downloads 2

I clicked that 'test if port is forwarded properly'

it came up with -

" Welcome to the µTorrent Port Checker.

A test will be performed on your computer to check if the specified port is opened.

Checking port 13660 on 58.105.141.115...

Error! Port 13660 does not appear to be open.

Please see www.portforward.com for more information about how to map a port.