Cannot Forward Port

teo

I am in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and this modem comes from TelMex Telephone company.

I have a yellow triangle in the status bar. I went to Portforwarding.com and did exactly what they said to properly forward my listening port. It is still blocked.

Please, any suggestions! I am new at this and 14kB download is making me pull my hair out!!!!!!!

Here is the information Ultima requested for my speed problems:

"checking port 20445 on 189.164.99.6... port appears to be closed"

2WIRE GATEWAY (2701HG-T) modem

my ip configuration:

connection specific dns suffix: gateway.2wire.net

ip address: 192.168.1.178

subnet: 255.255.255.0

default gateway: 192.168.1.254

d/l speed: 803 Kb/s

u/l speed: 100 Kb/s

latency: 54 ms

net max half open: 8

XP Pro O/S

firewall disabled and no anti-virus running

ISP: Prodigy

Ooooh! Greetings to sunny mexico :)

Well that sounds like a 1Mbit/128Kbps line. . . Unfortunately you're not the first to report problems. A search (top bar) with "2wire" as the search term pulls up similar problems, for which I have some ideas.

If the default gateway is not your modem's IP (if you try to browse that IP address in your browser, do you see your modem login/status screen?) that may be an extra re-direct which is essentially putting you behind a proxy. If that's the case, try putting your modem's IP as the default gateway. If you didn't manually set that, and it was changed automatically I would see if you can manually change that under the networking status icon in the system tray.