I'm all new to this....

fabio

Hi everyone,

I've read through this forum a few times as a guest and you all seem to be helpful and courteous so I took the chance to register and hopefully receive (and in time give help to) help from you all.

I'm a newbie to torrents and only discovered how useful they actually are recently!

In my house there are two computers - one is a desktop computer (3ghz Celeron with 512mb RAM) and one is a Dell XPS laptop (2ghz Intel Dual-Core, 2gb RAM).

My web connection is through a Zyxel 600 series modem/router and the desktop is connected to it with an ethernet cable while the laptop stays wireless.

The connection is broadband but here in Ireland broadband is very slowly being rolled out so it's not a very fast connection....just 1mb with a 40:1 contention ratio.

I set up my desktop PC to do port-forwarding and all the rest of it so that utorrent could be as quick as possible and it seemed to work as it took about 26hours to download a 2.2gb file.

However after fiddling with the router settings to make utorrent quick, I seemed to knock off my laptop as it didn't connect to the web through my router anymore. So I had to go and reset every setting to how it was before and now everything works but utorrent is barely working so I shut it down.

What I would like to do is set up utorrent on my laptop without stopping my other desktop computer from accessing the web and of course allow the web to run on both laptop and desktop at a reasonable speed (can be done by limiting upload settings I believe?).

Also I won't want any adjustments to my connection to stop me from using other networks such as my college network.

Would changing to a static IP address stop me connecting to another network automatically???