Help Needed.... no port connection as router is not allowing

cosmaboy

Hi,

I have just changed ISP from Sky to BT and have a new business broadband router BT 2700 HGV (netwire) i believe.

Now using the Sky Router when i had there broaband i could download at 750 kbs/sec but now i am showing increasing low speeds at downloading and i believe that this is to do with my utorrent not being able to connect properly to users sharing files ie port forwarding.

the router's firewall seems to be blocking any ports from connecting, and unfortunately i am not too technical minded and do not know how to change this.

I used to get the green light at the bottom of Utorrent and now its consistently red - ie no connection...

Can anyone help?

Thanks

Awwww, you changed from Sky. Unfortunately there are more problems reported with BT than Sky.

One thing you'll want to do is go through the Setup Guide again... re-test your sustained download speed in uT becuase you are as you said on 1) different ISPs pipes and 2) with different hardware. OpenOffice torrents or Slackware torrents will do.

Hmmm http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/2wire/BT2700HG-V/Utorrent.htm looks to be straight-forward .. but whether you can still get the same speeds depends on the lines more than anything.