Newby security questions...

alternate2007

I'm an "older" computer enthusiast and information junkie, and I am brand new to using torrents. Now that I have a newer computer, I am especially concerned about vulnerability issues that I have heard about with using torrents (before I get started).

Hearing vague, but negative statements (unfounded or not) like, "yeh, people could hack into your s@#$!", doesn't make me feel any better about it. I had also heard that you could set aside a folder that others could access/share, and that would be the only one, so that being hacked would not be any more of an issue than with regular computer use on the Internet. I don't want to leave the door to my house open all the time either. I am sure there are many aspects that I don't understand yet.

Can someone clarify relevant vulnerability issues using torrents (or Utorrent specifically) with me, please?

Thank you in advance

Quick Reply suggestions...

I use...with relative success..

You can search for these softwares successfully to find DIRECT LINKS to the main sites.

ESET NOD32 Smart Security .. Important to get to know the program inside and out. Always deny lsass.exe incoming attempts... :) Integration of this programs with the rest of your system, done properly should secure just about anything you do, with any program. Even if something does happen.. with these you can probably fix it.

Peer Guardian 2 .. using all five default lists, start manually, update daily and add Bluetack Lists as well. Get to know this program and the fact that it is capable of blocking updating and connections to various software vendors..Good stuff..

uTorrent.. LOVE IT, and has a built in filter, thoroughly explained on how to use and maintain..here in the forums.

SpyBot Search and Destroy... Excellent for securing your system and repairing the system from any known attacks or malicious files.