Forwarding Ports.

drragostea

I'm new to uTorrent, and I'm having trouble forwarding ports. I've read the portforward .com articles and the Wikipedia articles, but I have no idea what it is talking about. I'm still getting a yellow icon in uTorrent.

The software PORTFORWARD requires me to set a TCP and some kinda UCP port number.

I'm assuming that forwarding my port, will resolve the downloading speeds.

I use Windows XP SP3 & Westell 6100 modem (I've read the article about it, but it's too dated).

Thanks for any help.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can you define your network topology and the corresponding devices manufacturers and models? What's your network status icon and message in µTorrent?

Off topic: What's data drain like in G.U.? And are there subsets of that skill like the original series?

Bleh. I'm having trouble comprehending what the "topology" of my network is. I think it might be "bus", but I'm not sure. All I can say is that my connection is not Wi-Fi.

~It has a yellow ETHERNET wire connected DIRECTLY to my desktop PC. A telephone like wire (it's white) is connected directly to the phone jack. I'm the only user.

When I started using Comodo Pro I received a red icon. I switched firewalls to ZA Free but still got a Yellow icon. I tried it with Windows firewall too. Apparently, the port that is forwarded in speed guide is CLOSED.

I'm still getting a yellow. I tried the OpenOffice torrent, I got to a max of 54kb/sec then it dropped to 0.4kb/sec. The article in PortForward is too dated.

Off Topic: You play as the protagonist Haseo. He has the "avatar" Skeith within him. Skeith activates in the beginning and Haseo attempts to tame and use it's powers. However Haseo abuses Skeith for tournament battles and wins all of them.

Basically instead of field battles, there's avatar battles. It's Skieth again this "unknown" phenomenon called AIDA. Storyline is amazing... 40 hours of meticulous gameplay :P Thanks GTHK

:)