Hashfalls

Champannie

Hi

I'm very new to utorrent, but a quick learner.

I have been downloading for about 2 weeks now, and the problem is with the amount of usage versus the actual downloads I am obtaining, which is less than half my usage, and with a 20g plan I have used 62% in the last 5 days, with not much to show for it.

I have looked at the help faq, but can't seem to find the answer there as I don't have any of the antivirus mentioned or the router.

I also noticed yesterday that on 1 file alone I have downloaded 2.11g but have 1.8g hashfalls, so I assume that's my problem, although I have no idea what hashfalls are?

Any help would be appreciated

Thank you

Champannie

http://utorrent.com/faq.php#What_does_Wasted_and_hashfails_mean.3F

As far as 1.8/2.1 GiB downloaded hashfails.. I'm sorry. Apparently you chose content which has nefarious peers afoot or your connection itself has a problem. Is there something UNUSUAL about your connection? What ISP? What kind of internet? Did you search with those terms when you looked?

You have a 20 GiB monthly plan.. while not alot, it still comes up fast, especially if you don't ONLY bittorrent to use bandwidth. Lots of uploading/downloading of photos from sites like flickr.com or youtube.com eat bandwidth LIKE NOTHING ELSE. uT has features you can disable, while they aren't HUGE bandwidth eaters, being on 24/7 does eat up a chunk of your quota.

I am with optusnet adsl 2, and although I do surf, looking mainly for the best price on things I need to buy, before changing to optus and downloading utorrent files, I only had 1g a month, and that seemed to be enough.

Is there any way of telling about the files you want to download with 'nefarious' peers, and as far as I know there's nothing unusual about my connection

I plan to re-format my computer anyway soon, and the only thing stopping me is that I have 4 files at least 1/3 way through.