HELP I'm a complete novice and don't even know what Hijack means

Dancing Queen

I've been downloading the first episode of Smallville series 7 as I only missed 1 and 2 and have the rest on sky but so far it's taken me 3 days and then just 20 minutes ago, i get a flash of something on my screen and then an error message saying it's been used by another process. I see you've had a recent post saying the same message so went to my program files to see if i had roxio or Nero. I did have the former and have uninstalled it (hopefully don't need it for anything) but nothing's changed. it still won't download. I'm at 63% now and it's taken so long, I couldn't bear to start from the beginning again. I also did that port checker thing with ctrl and g and that was ok. If you give me techy stuff, you really need to be basic. I didn't even know what utorrent meant until I downloaded it and then thought i'd better read what it meant (I thought a peer was someone who could peer into my computer files or something!) Please help. Thanks in advance.

OK, so this is you being dead non-techy speak? what on earth does '1st link in my signature' mean? And yes, i did have a good read through the troubleshooting guide but that seems to be more when it's not working and mine was working perfectly for 64% until this happened so I know all the settings and things are correct.

Come on Switeck, help me out here......

1st link in my signature = http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=15992

It has a VERY IMPORTANT section stating exactly what we need as troubleshooters if nothing works.

I cannot count the number of times people thought they had good settings in uTorrent or for their router...and they didn't. :(

If a torrent is only 64% done, what is its availability?

If you're not connected to any seeds and no other peer has more percentage than you...that torrent may not finish till a seed comes back.

Hi Switeck,