ANOTHER internet slow while utorrent running...

rockfrawg

i've been using utorrent for a few months now without issue...I've searched, think my problem might be anti-virus related but heres what i know so far...

using windows XP Pro SP3

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz

4GB RAM

Using Windows Defender and Windows Firewall

McAfee Security Center - "utorrent has full access to the internet and can establish inbound and outbound connections"

I recently upgraded my internet with AT&T Yahoo DSL to their "elite" package, maximums of 6Mbps/768kbps, and figured i'd run a check on the speed to make sure they actually gave me the upgrade. without utorr running i average about 5Mbps/615kbps and with utorr running i get less than 1.5Mbps/45kbps.

i've gone thru the setup guide, everything is setup properly exactly how the guide advises.

net.max_halfopen has been set to 2 cuz lowering it seemed to be recommended for others i found in searching.

IP resolving has been disabled

both DHT have been disabled

UPnP and NAT-PMP have both been disabled

peer.resolve_country is set to false

i've got a green check in the status bar

"OK! Port 50000 is open and accepting connections."

Upload limit: 60kbps

Global Connections: 150

Connections: 50

Max Torrents: 5

Upload Slots: 4

Max Active Downloads: 4

internet runs thru a Siemens Speedstream 4100 modem then a D-link DIR-655 wireless router...laptop is connected wirelessly

what have i missed??? why would the connection speed slow down so dramatically just b.c. utorrent is running? I usually leave it on all the time to seed but if thats the case i'm not going to be able to.

THX

i would but when i bought the laptop i'm using i paid for 3 years of service thru McAfee...so i hope thats not the problem and wouldnt want uninstalling it to be solution...theres bound to be a setting i could change if it were the problem...i'm still exploring that...