Problems with speed

kingbudman

I recently started using utorrent and started with v1.4

I was getting 10KB/s to 30KB/s mostly close to 20KB/s before I did port forwarding

Now I get the Network OK message and I dont get much better Download speeds maxing at like 50KB/s, I am on a 1.5MB DSL connection and when I do the speed tests it says I get like 1024kbps DL speed and 128kbps upload speed. Now based on the kbps/10 rule I should be getting like 100KB/s download speed if everything is configured properly

I set my speed to xx/192k which sets my max DL speed set to 0(unlimited) and my upload speed set to 17KB/s, Upload slots 3, connections (per torrent) 55, connections (global) 90.

What else do I need to do to get my speeds higher, what they should be at? or is that all I can do to get the highest speeds?

I have read guides and i'm new to this whole thing so I get real confused when reading them

Should I just goto v1.3 like everyone says? will that allow me faster speeds?

thanks in advance

Kingbudman :)

You should use 128k for your connection, 192 is killing the upload.

Why would I want a lower upload speed? will that give me a higher download speed?

I thought the higher your shareratio the higher the DL speed will be( which is currently 5.999 or something like that), if I set it to 9 instead of 17 I will DL faster than the UL by far, which I though will give me a even slower DL speed

Kingbudman

... I am on a 1.5MB DSL connection and when I do the speed tests it says I get like 1024kbps DL speed and 128kbps upload speed.

From that I can conclude that the way you set your upload it's totally choking your bandwidth, and that's bad for everyone. :| You need to set the Speed Guide feature at exactly the same upload speed (or possibly a little lower). That's why I suggested 128, 'cause 192 is way too high for your connection.:/

You cannot upload faster than your connection's max.

Trying cripples your download and causes all sorts of packet loss.