I am very new, I need help with uploading/seeding problems

Fleeting

Hey everyone, nice to meet you! I've been looking over FAQs and guides on this site, but I just don't really understand what some of it is supposed to mean, so I thought I'd post a thread here and see if anyone could help me out. Sorry if everything is answered for me somewhere else, but the guides just don't make that much sense to me..I kind of need stuff explained since I am new to this.

Basically my problem is that seeding takes forever for me. I downloaded an 8GB file using utorrent and I was downloading at 633.7 kB/s average according to the program and the download took around 3 and a half hours, but now that I am trying to seed it I can't seem to get the upload speed above 10 kB/s..that's going to take weeks to finish! It was around 25 kB-30kB/s before, but 10 is as high as it will go now and sometimes it even drops to below 1. The info under "transfer" says I am usually connected to 2-5 out of 24 "peers" (those are leeches right?) and 0 out of 0 seeds are connected, and I assume that is irrelevant to me since I am seeding and not leeching.

There is a little green checkmark at the bottom of the program telling me my network connection is okay, it says my port is opened in the logger. I ran the utorrent setup guide and beside Bandwidth and Network there are two green checkmarks, It says my upload speed should be 70.3 kB/s and download should be 286.3 kB/s. This doesn't add up at all, I am getting way below that in upload speed and way above in download..what am I missing? My ISP is Rogers HSI if that matters at all.

Is there any info you guys need that could let you help me out more? I really don't want to spend weeks seeding a file, I'd like to get my speed back up to where it was before because that was at least reasonable. Please help me out, thank you!