Upgraded to utorrent 1.7.6 - internet stops

cunparis

I've been using utorrent successfully for a couple years now. Today, I clicked on the choice to upgrade to 1.7.6. I did not change anything else on my system. My computer gets all its connections used and then I have to exit utorrent and wait approximately 5 minutes for the connections to finally time out and get closed before I can use the internet (firefox, etc.).

I've reduced my connections from 800 to 500 and I've followed the other advice in the troubleshooting section (turned off the DH and whatever else there was, set my net.half thing to 4 instead of 8, etc. Didn't change anything. As soon as I start a torrent my computer's connections fill up and I can't access the net. All other pc's on the network work fine so I do not think it's the router. And as I said, nothing has changed on my computer. I have not even installed a windows update.

Is something wrong? What can I do?

PS: putting connections to 50 doesn't work. I think this version is not closing connections properly.

PSS: I'm running Vista 32 Basic.

Tried almost everything there including uninstalling utorrent and rebooting and installing 1.7.5. Weird. Maybe it's just a coincidence that it stopped working the day I did the upgrade to 1.7.6 but I can't figure it out. I changed the port number and that didn't matter either. Activated encryption, same. Either my ISP is screwing with me or something really strange is going on.

DreadWingKnight - if I'm the only one with the problem then I would try to assemble all the information requested. But from the looks of the thread linked above, I'm not the only one. I've been using this for over a year, and nothing changed except 1.7.6!