Manually setting addittional connections(seeders?)

Estrang

Hello, I'm new to utorrent and here is a little background on my connection/understanding of utorrents:

I have recently downloaded a file for a client I previously had on disc, this is a rather rare file as it is about two years old atleast and there are few torrents available for it anywhere on the web. The first one I sucessfully downloaded after 15 hours(3gb). My connection is rated xx/2mb and I followed the guide, read the entire FAQ, and checked through ok on the firewall port. I use comcast as an ISP and I keep all my incoming and outgoing packets encrypted, I have no trouble uploading up to around 30-40kb/s and my connection test showed around a 75 kB/s max upload speed so I dont think ISP is an issue here, just read the thread about Comcast and I still don't think it's the issue.

Last night while downloading this file I was plagued with 20-40kB/s speeds, far below what my computer has delivered on other services or direct downloads. There were roughly 16 seeds available and 22 Peers available on this particular download link. At times my connection would remain steady upward of 100kB/s. And for about 10 minutes I was lucky enough to stay at the more normal speeds of 320kB/s. However it mostly stayed steady between 40kB/s to 90kB/s.(EDIT: Forgot to add, I downloaded an old link that apparently was about 100mb too small, and did not work at all, I am as of writing this, downloading what I believe the proper client to install and run at roughly 80kB/s).

Now that you have a good idea of how my connection is set up, I have a few questions I was unable to find answers to while browsing/searching the forum.

1. While downloading I noticed I was connected to roughly 8(16) seeds and 11(20)[^this also means I'm not suffering from the Windows SP2 issue where only 10 connections can be made I presume?]peers, can anyone translate how this relates to my speed at downloading the file?