"seeding" a file from one local folder/computer to another.

chart74

I admit that this is a pretty rare need, but I'll post it here, just to plant a seed.

I recently had a HD crash and lost a 10GB file that was 50% complete. I redownloaded the file onto a separate computer, and got to about 50% when I recovered my first hard drive. I now have two 50% complete versions, which mean statistically I should have 75% of the file between the two. It's taken about a week for each, I really prefer not to redownload that 25%.

It would be nice if µTorrent could do a trackerless/LAN comparison of two incomplete files and merge the union of the two block sets. It seems to require no new technology. µTorrent is still comparing a file to a .torrent, determining what pieces peers have (in this case, the second file either on the same computer or on another computer in the LAN), and then transfering those pieces into the torrented file. I'm not really a programmer, but it doesn't seem like this would add bloat, it's just defining the process more generally: there's no tracker needed since the "peer" is defined, and there's no real WAN/bandwidth issues since you are just writing blocks from one folder to another, locally.

Solution 1, outside of a µTorrent feature:

It doesn't do me any good to create my own .torrent and privately seed myself, since I don't have the original 10 GB file to create the accurate torrent. I only have two incomplete 5 GB versions.

Solution 2, outside of a µTorrent feature:

I could join the swarm from both computers and hope that I eventually seed myself through the swarm, but this is a major waste of downloading.

Solution 3, outside of a µTorrent feature:

I can modify the old .torrent to a new public tracker (or set one up myself) and hope I'm the only 2 peers to join the swarm. This is a very ugly, inefficient solution, since I'm really just trying to move the file from one of my folders/computers to another.